“Jackson’s Wars” a finalist for the Dafoe Prize

Lovely news this morning from my publisher, McGill-Queen’s University Press: Jackson’s Wars is one of five finalists for the 2023 Dafoe Book Prize. The finalists have been chosen from books in 44 different fields.

“The John W. Dafoe Book Prize memorializes John Wesley Dafoe, one of the most significant Canadian editors of the 20th century. A value of $12,000, it is one of the richest book awards in Canada for non-fiction excellence. Selection criteria include subjects involving Canada, Canadians, and the Canadian nation in international affairs. During his tenure at the Manitoba Free Press, later renamed the Winnipeg Free Press, from 1901-1944, Dafoe was known for his advocacy of western development, free trade, and national independence. His case for Britain’s adoption of the Statute of Westminster in 1931 helped to create the eight dominions which became the nucleus of the present 56-nation Commonwealth.”

UPDATE: Andrew Stobo Sniderman and Douglas Sanderson (Amo Binashii) have won the 2023 Dafoe Book Prize for Valley of the Birdtail: An Indian Reserve, a White Town, and the Road to Reconciliation published by HarperCollins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: